Site Navigation

Image by Maria Tiurina

Image by Maria Tiurina

Events - Talks

Thinking Worlds

A Nina Allan & Dave Hutchinson Event

26 Oct 2015

Ray Bradbury once defined science fiction as "any idea that occurs in the head and doesn't exist yet, but soon will, and will change everything for everybody, and nothing will ever be the same again." Organised in collaboration with the University of Nottingham's Popular Culture Lecture Series and launching its second series of lectures, this panel discussion focuses on the role and function of science fiction, and more generally popular culture, in our contemporary society.
6.30 - 8.30pm
The Space, Free
Speakers include: Nina Allan, author of numerous prize-winning short stories, novellas and whose first novel The Race was nominated for the British Science Fiction Award and the John W. Campbell Memorial Award in 2014; Dave Hutchinson, journalist and author of multiple short story collections and novels, whose latest novel Europe in Autumn was shortlisted for the prestigious Arthur C. Clarke Award; Professor Farah Mendlesohn, winner of the British Science Fiction Award for her work A Short History of Fantasy in 2009 and of the Hugo Award in 2012 for her critical collection The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature.
Nina Allan is a British writer of speculative fiction. She has published four collections of short stories, a novella and a novel. Her stories have appeared in the magazines Interzone, Black Static and Crimewave. Her 2007 short story Angelus won the Aeon Award and her novella Spin won the British Science Fiction Award for Best Short Fiction in 2013. In 2014, her second collection of short stories, The Silver Wind, a unified narrative about time travel and clocks, won her the French Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire for Foreign Short Fiction. Other stories have been shortlisted for both the British Fantasy Award and the Shirley Jackson Awards. In 2014, Nina published her first novel, The Race, a dystopian story set in a future Great Britain scarred by fracking and ecological collapse and dominated by the illegal sport of smartdog racing, which was nominated for both the British Fantasy Award and the John W. Campbell Award for Best Novel.
Dave Hutchinson published four volumes of short stories before reaching the age of twenty-one years old. Thumbprints (1978), Fool’s Gold (1979), Torn Air (1980) and The Paradise Equation (1981), all published as David Hutchinson. After their publication, Dave moved into journalism. After a decade of writing non-fiction, Dave returned to fiction under the name of Dave Hutchinson, publishing his fifth collection of short stories As the Crow Flies (2004) and his first novel, The Village, in 2001. In 2009, he published his second novel, The Push, an exploration of faster-than-light travel and spatial colonisation and in 2014, his third, Europe in Autumn, a thriller involving espionage and a mysterious postal service in a dystopian future which saw the dismantlement of Europe into numerous mini-nations. Europe in Autumn was both shortlisted for the Locus Awards and the Arthur C.Clarke Award in 2015.
Farah Mendlesohn is currently Professor of Literary History and Head of the Department of English and Media at Anglia Ruskin University. With a background in History and a strong interest in religious cultures, she has worked in numerous fields, from her first publication in 2002, Quaker Relief Work in the Spanish Civil War, to her more recent work as author on the rhetorics of fantasy (2008) and the relationship between science-fiction, fantasy and childhood (Diana Wynne Jones: Children's Literature and the Fantastic Tradition in 2005 and The Inter-galactic Playground: A Critical Study of Children's and Teens' Science Fiction in 2009). From 2002 to 2007, she was the editor of Foundation - The International Review of Science Fiction and her work as editor has included The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature (2012), On Joanna Russ (2009), Glorifying Terrorism, Manufacturing Contempt: An Anthology of Original Science Fiction (2006) and The Cambridge Companion to Science Fiction (2003). 
Popular Culture Lecture Series is a weekly lecture series, started in the Spring 2014-15, which explores the diverse facets and features of popular culture. Organised by the University of Nottingham, the lectures are free and open to students, staff and members of the public alike.
For more information and a detailed programme of the coming lectures, check our website or visit us on Facebook


This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.