Site Navigation

Otobong Nkanga, Taste of a Stone, 2016. Installation view, Nottingham Contemporary. Photo by Stuart Whipps

Otobong Nkanga, Taste of a Stone, 2016. Installation view, Nottingham Contemporary. Photo by Stuart Whipps.

Events - Special Events

Taste of a Stone

14 Oct 2016 - 15 Jan 2017

What is the Taste of a Stone?

Otobong Nkanga has developed her installation, Taste of a Stone as a space for encounters. Her installation consisting of woven tapestry, ten tonnes of white stone and living vegetation and more, offers a space for the natural world to enter into dialogue with local performers and visitors.

Regular live events that range from sound pieces, to dance, poetry and performance will be ongoing throught the exhibition season to reflect Artists' interpretation of Taste of a Stone.

Free. No need to book, just drop in.

Fri 11 Nov, 1-2pm - Rebecca Lee, Artist and Musician.

Sun 13 Nov, 3-4pm - Rebecca Lee, Artist and Musician.

Wed 16 Nov, 1-2pm - Nathaniel Mann.

Fri 18 Nov, 5.30-6pm - Performance.

Sun 20 Nov, 3-4pm  - Panya Banjoko, Poet.

Wed 23 Nov, 5-6pm - Rebecca Lee & Wayne Burrows, Artists, Musicians and poetry.

Fri 25 Nov, 5.30-6pm - Leah Sanderson.

Sun 27 Nov, 3-4pm - Leah Sanderson.

Wed 30 Nov, 2-3pm - Antonio Abatangelo.

Fri 2 Dec, 5-6pm - Nathiel Mann.

Sun 4 Dec, 3-4pm - Michael Pinchbeck

More to be listed soon...

 

Comments

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.

Supporters